Powerpay is Dayforce's veteran Canadian small-business payroll: strong CRA and Revenu Quebec compliance, standout support, and a published CA$25 plus CA$5 All-In plan, but no API and a ceiling near 200 staff.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
The standout dimension. GetApp Canada scores customer support 4.8 out of 5 across 266 reviews (4.7 overall), and reviewers consistently praise fast, knowledgeable, Canada-based help and on-time CRA and WCB remittances. Recurring gripe: different reps sometimes give conflicting answers (buyer-reported).
Deep on the Canadian small-business essentials: automated CRA and Revenu Quebec remittances, T4 and RL-1 year-end, ROE Web, WCB, provincial payroll taxes (EHT, QHSF), and statutory holiday pay, with 25 years of Canadian tax lineage and NPI-trained support. Held back only by being Canada-only and SMB-scoped, with no US or multi-jurisdiction depth.
Fast for the category. A single-company Canadian payroll stands up in days to about two weeks with a Dayforce service representative. The friction is data quality and, on a mid-year switch, rebuilding year-to-date totals so T4 and RL-1 reconcile; a January 1 cutover is cleanest.
Mixed. The new All-In micro plan is genuinely published (CA$25/mo plus CA$5 per employee, no ROE or year-end surcharge), a real transparency win, but the mainline Launch, Advance, and Boost bundles stay quote-only, the legacy per-run plus per-payment structure is opaque, and there is no self-serve free trial.
QuickBooks Online is connected through a token and payroll journal entries post directly, with fees and taxes mapped so bank reconciliation works. Capped because QuickBooks Online is the only supported system, any other format means a Journal Entry Report Questionnaire to receive an export, only one Powerpay user may hold the connection, and each run requires that user to open Accounting Data and click Post.
Explicitly a small-business tool, serving about 1 to 199 employees with a sweet spot under 50 and no true HCM depth. It caps out by design; growth beyond it is a full re-implementation on the separate Dayforce HCM platform, not a module you switch on.
No customer API. Integrations arrive through Powerpay Plus partner connections such as Agendrix, and developer documentation sits inside the Dayforce Developer Network for partners, so a finance team cannot automate its own Powerpay account. The one automated path is the QuickBooks Online posting connection, which is a GL feature, not an API.
The weakest dimension. No public API, not listed on the Dayforce Developer Network, no first-party MCP server, and no in-product AI. Dayforce's AI Assistant, agents, and declared MCP adoption belong to the HCM flagship, not Powerpay. Middleware vendors reach it only through assisted, credential-based connections.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
Powerpay is the payroll service most Canadian small businesses have run on for two decades, now folded into Dayforce and relaunched as Powerpay by Dayforce in July 2025. For a Canadian controller or bookkeeper the appeal is narrow but real: source deductions are remitted to the CRA and Revenu Quebec automatically, T4 and RL-1 year-end slips and ROE Web submissions are handled, and WCB, EHT, QHSF, and statutory holiday pay are calculated for you, backed by NPI-trained Canadian support reviewers rate 4.8 out of 5.
Payroll journal entries sync natively into QuickBooks Online. The limits matter just as much. Reporting is thin, and you cannot open an employee record without an active pay period. Native GL sync is QuickBooks Online only; Xero, Sage 50 and other ledgers get a Journal Entry Report file, not a live sync. There is no public API, Powerpay is not on the Dayforce Developer Network, and none of Dayforce's AI or MCP agent work reaches it.
It also caps out near 200 employees: outgrowing it means a full Dayforce HCM implementation, not a plan upgrade. Only the flat CA$25 plus CA$5 All-In micro plan is published; the standard bundles are quote-only, so pin down per-run, per-payment, and renewal terms in writing now that Thoma Bravo owns the parent.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Powerpay remits source deductions to the CRA and Revenu Quebec automatically, files T4 and RL-1 year-end slips, and submits records of employment through ROE Web, while calculating WCB remittances, provincial payroll taxes such as Ontario EHT and the Quebec QHSF, and statutory holiday pay by province. Reviewers specifically credit it with always-on-time CRA and WCB remittances that avoid fees and penalties (vendor and buyer-reported).
Support is Powerpay's most consistent praise: GetApp Canada scores customer support 4.8 out of 5 across 266 reviews (4.7 overall), and reviewers highlight fast, knowledgeable, Canada-based help from a team trained through the National Payroll Institute. The recurring caveat is that different representatives sometimes give conflicting answers to the same question (buyer-reported).
Powerpay has served Canadian small business for more than 25 years and reported over 46,000 customers across Canada at its July 2025 relaunch as Powerpay by Dayforce, up from the 45,000+ still cited on some product pages (published vendor figures). That install base and Canada-specific tax lineage, dating to a 2001 launch as Canada's first fully internet-based payroll, are the core of the pitch.
Powerpay's one native, live general-ledger integration is with QuickBooks Online: each run produces a journal entry, including Dayforce fees and taxes, mapped to your chart of accounts and connected by a token valid for 100 days. Xero, Sage 50 and other packages receive a configured Journal Entry Report file rather than a live sync, and year-end runs are excluded from the QuickBooks Online integration (published help documentation).
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Published November 13, 2025 for micro-businesses (eligibility set by Powerpay; confirm your headcount qualifies); no extra fees for ROEs, year-end slips, or add-ons. The only fully published Powerpay price.
Mainline payroll bundles beyond the All-In plan. No published rate; contact Powerpay. Historically billed per pay run plus per employee paid.
Onboarding via New Hire Wizard, employee records, document management with virus scanning, time off with accruals, and employee self-service. Help docs state service fees apply.
Outsource payroll entry, tax filings, and government remittances to Dayforce staff. Priced on top of the platform.
Buyer-reported: a processing fee per pay run plus a fee per employee paid, so pay frequency drives cost. Weekly costs more than monthly for the same headcount.
PricingNow estimate (March 2026) of $72 to $144 per employee per year for standard bundles; currency not stated and no method given (weak source). Estimated, not published.
Moving off ADP, Wagepoint, or another provider mid-year requires loading prior year-to-date earnings, deductions, and employer contributions so T4 and RL-1 totals and CPP/EI maximums stay correct. The cleanest cutover is January 1; budget extra time and an external accountant if you switch mid-year.
The most consistent complaint in reviews is limited reporting, with even the paid custom-reports option described as barely useful, and you cannot open an employee record without an active pay period. Plan to export data to QuickBooks Online or a spreadsheet for any real analysis or board reporting.
QuickBooks Online gets a token-based journal-entry sync with chart-of-accounts mapping (token valid 100 days, one Powerpay user per QuickBooks account at a time). Xero, Sage 50 and other packages get a configured Journal Entry Report file via questionnaire, not a live connection, and year-end runs are not covered by the QuickBooks integration.
Powerpay is built for roughly 1 to 199 employees and lacks scheduling, talent, and deep analytics. Graduating is not a plan upgrade: it is a full implementation of the separate Dayforce HCM platform, a months-long project on a different system, so weigh the eventual migration cost when you adopt Powerpay early.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Start with the direct question a finance buyer actually cares about: can an AI agent connect to Powerpay? As of July 2026 the answer is no. Powerpay exposes no public API, it is not listed on the Dayforce Developer Network at developers.dayforce.com, and there is no first-party Powerpay MCP server. Multiple software directories state plainly that Powerpay does not offer an API.
This is the crucial distinction for anyone who has read Dayforce's AI headlines. The flagship Dayforce HCM has documented REST APIs, an embedded AI Assistant, rolling-out AI agents, and an October 2025 declaration that it will adopt the Model Context Protocol, plus third-party Dayforce MCP servers such as StackOne's 49-action server and a Zapier bridge. None of that reaches Powerpay. Powerpay is a separate, older small-business platform, and the Developer Network and those MCP wrappers target the HCM engine, not Powerpay.
Unified-API vendors do list Powerpay, but read the fine print. Finch classifies its Ceridian Powerpay connection as an Assisted integration, meaning it is credential and operations based rather than a native Powerpay API, and Merge and Apideck primarily cover Dayforce HCM. For a controller this means any Powerpay integration bought through a middleware vendor is likely an assisted, human-in-the-loop pipe rather than a real-time programmatic connection, and write-back should be treated skeptically.
What actually works is export-based automation. Powerpay produces payroll registers, GL files, and year-end slips, and it syncs journal entries into QuickBooks Online with chart-of-accounts mapping. An agent like Claude can operate on that exported data, in QuickBooks or a spreadsheet, to reconcile, analyze, and flag anomalies. Inside Powerpay itself there is no generative AI assistant, no natural-language reporting, and no agent surface as of July 2026.
Score it 1 of 5. Powerpay is a compliance-and-support product, not a platform, and its automation story ends at file exports and a single QuickBooks Online sync. If programmatic access or agentic payroll is on your roadmap, that capability lives in Dayforce HCM, a different product and a different budget, not in Powerpay.
Who wins for whom: The quickest Canadian setup for a single company: Powerpay. Self-serve Canadian payroll running within a day or two: Wagepoint. Full Quebec coverage, including RL-1 and QPP: Humi.
Quickest Canadian setup. A single-company Canadian payroll stands up in days, with CRA and Revenu Quebec remittances, T4s, ROEs and stat holiday pay handled.
Where it loses: Canada only and scoped for small businesses, so you outgrow the product rather than just a plan.
Source: AF score rationales: Compliance depth 84, Implementation 80; Powerpay watch-outs.
Watch: Submit payroll for processing 1:10 · Vendor walkthrough · Dayforce on Vidyard (official)
Minutes per run for small teams. Self-serve setup gets most small Canadian teams running payroll within a day or two, with CRA remittances, ROEs and T4s handled.
Where it loses: It files RL-1 slips but not the Quebec RL-1 summary, and direct deposit needs three days of lead time.
Source: AF score rationales: Compliance depth 90, Implementation 80; Wagepoint watch-outs.
Watch: Running your first payroll with Wagepoint (Canada) 2:55 · Official walkthrough · Wagepoint on YouTube (official)
Built for Canadian payroll. Automates CRA remittances and T4s, files ROEs within one business day, and covers Quebec in full, including RL-1 and QPP.
Where it loses: Stat holiday pay and ROE block 15B are not filled in for you, and it is Canada only.
Source: AF score rationales: Compliance depth 78, Implementation 66.
Watch: How to Run Payroll in Humi 3:24 · Official walkthrough · Humi on YouTube (official)
Who wins for whom: T4 and RL-1 year-end with ROE Web and Quebec's QHSF handled: Powerpay. T4s and RL-1 slips with ROEs filed within a business day: Humi. Year-end plus WCB and provincial payroll taxes, if you file the Quebec RL-1 summary yourself: Wagepoint.
Canadian year-end in the box. T4 and RL-1 year-end, ROE Web, WCB and provincial payroll taxes including EHT and Quebec's QHSF, with CRA and Revenu Quebec remittances automated.
Where it loses: Canada only and scoped to small businesses, and a mid-year switch means rebuilding year-to-date figures before the T4s come out right.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 84; Powerpay watch-outs.
No public demo of this task. Ask for a sandbox run into your own system before you sign.
Canada year-end, one gap. Covers T4, T4A and RL-1 year-end alongside ROEs, WCB and provincial payroll taxes.
Where it loses: It files RL-1 slips but cannot submit the Quebec RL-1 summary for you.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 90; Wagepoint watch-outs.
Watch: Employee details to confirm before the final payroll of the year 0:48 · Official year-end clip · Wagepoint on YouTube (official)
Quebec included. Handles T4s and files RL-1 slips to Revenu Quebec, alongside ROEs filed within one business day.
Where it loses: Stat holiday pay and ROE block 15B are not filled in for you, and English Canada clients absorbed a move onto a new platform.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 78; Humi watch-outs.
Watch: Confidently navigate tax season with Humi 1:00:16 · Official webinar · Humi on YouTube (official)
Thoma Bravo closed its acquisition of Dayforce for about US$12.3 billion at US$70.00 per share in cash, delisting the company from the NYSE and TSX. Powerpay is unaffected operationally, but small-business buyers should watch renewal pricing and product investment under private-equity ownership.
Powerpay introduced an All-In plan at CA$25 per month plus CA$5 per employee with no hidden fees for ROEs, year-end slips, or add-ons, targeting the majority of Canadian employers that have five or fewer staff. It is a rare published, predictable price in an otherwise quote-only lineup.
Dayforce rebranded its Canadian small and mid-sized business payroll and HR solution as Powerpay by Dayforce for more than 46,000 customers across Canada, adding a more intuitive experience, enhanced time tracking, a New Hire Wizard, and bulk self-service enrollment, and naming Behrad Bayanpour as general manager of Powerpay.
Only the All-In micro plan is published: CA$25 per month plus CA$5 per employee, with no extra fees for ROEs, year-end slips, or add-ons, aimed at micro-businesses (eligibility set by Powerpay). The mainline standard bundles are quote-only, historically billed as a per-pay-run processing fee plus a per-employee-paid fee, so pay frequency affects your bill. A third-party estimate (PricingNow, March 2026) puts standard bundles around $6 to $12 per employee per month, currency not stated (estimated, not published). The Powerpay People HR add-on and Assisted or Managed Payroll cost extra, and Dayforce offers a demo rather than a self-serve free trial.
Powerpay agreements are quote-based outside the flat All-In plan. The line items to pin down in writing are the per-pay-run and per-employee-paid fees, any charges for off-cycle or additional runs, and ROE and year-end slip fees on the non-All-In bundles, since the All-In plan bundles those in but the others may not. Watch for annual renewal increases, a sharper concern now that Thoma Bravo has taken Dayforce private, and confirm whether the Powerpay People HR module carries a separate service fee. The All-In plan is the most predictable option if you qualify.
Fast for the category: a single Canadian payroll typically stands up in days to about two weeks with a Dayforce service representative who helps map your QuickBooks Online chart of accounts. The catch is a mid-year switch, which requires rebuilding year-to-date earnings, deductions, and employer contributions so T4 and RL-1 totals and CPP/EI maximums stay correct; the cleanest cutover is January 1. Have clean employee data, your CRA and provincial remittance account numbers, and prior-provider year-to-date reports ready before you start.
No, not directly. Powerpay exposes no public API, is not listed on the Dayforce Developer Network, and has no first-party MCP server. The AI Assistant, agents, and declared MCP adoption you may have read about belong to the separate Dayforce HCM flagship, not Powerpay. The practical route is export-based: Powerpay syncs journal entries into QuickBooks Online and produces registers and year-end files, and an agent can operate on that exported data to reconcile and analyze. Unified APIs such as Finch reach Powerpay only through assisted, credential-based connections rather than a native integration.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.