
BILL is a US accounts payable and receivable platform that captures bills, routes approvals, pays vendors by ACH, check, card or wire and syncs to QuickBooks, Xero or an ERP, built for small businesses and the accounting firms that run their books.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
The published fee table covers ACH at $0.59, check at $1.99, free virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent, instant payments at 1 percent and same-day ACH at $11.99 (pricing page, 26 September 2026). BILL runs payment processing in-house, applies Positive Pay to checks and pays vendors in 130+ countries. The FX margin on free local-currency wires is not disclosed, and no payer rebate on virtual card payments is published.
BILL posts per-user prices for three plans and a full fee table: ACH, check, wires, instant and expedited payments, card payments, voids, failed ACH and 1099 filing (pricing page, 26 September 2026). Vendr publishes a median of $11,769 a year from 51 purchases. Still quote only: Enterprise, the Procurement add-on for Essentials and Team, approver-only seat pricing and the FX margin behind free foreign-currency wires.
The pricing page (checked 26 September 2026) gives every plan approval workflows and the W-9 Agent, custom approval policies from Corporate, and dual control only on Enterprise. The security page lists annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits, PCI Level 1 for card payments, HIPAA safeguards, an AML and OFAC program, Positive Pay on checks and a time-stamped audit trail that cannot be altered. Native 3-way matching arrived in BILL Procurement in June 2026, but ERP PO sync is an Enterprise feature, and none of the pages reviewed mention e-invoicing mandates outside the US.
QuickBooks Online and Xero customers self-onboard from a free trial, and BILL says larger deployments and customers on other accounting systems and ERPs get solution specialists who help configure, test and document the import/export process (integrations FAQ). A NetSuite partner reports weeks for a single-entity setup and 2 to 3 months for complex multi-entity work (Anchor Group, 3 September 2026). The 9.2 million member network and the W-9 Agent cut supplier onboarding, and a free API sandbox exists.
Team and Corporate get automatic 2-way sync with QuickBooks Online, Pro, Premier and Xero; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, QuickBooks Enterprise, Acumatica and Rillet 2-way sync is Enterprise only, and Essentials uses CSV (pricing page). The NetSuite and Intacct pages list custom segment or user-defined dimension sync, and BILL runs automatic sync every 24 hours plus on demand. SAP, Sage 100 and other systems fall back to file import and export.
BILL served 479,300 businesses and processed 37 million transactions worth $98 billion in the quarter to 30 June 2026 (FY2026 results release). The AP page says up to 2,000 bills can be paid at a time, and the international payments page lists 130+ countries. The ceiling shows in the plan design: multi-entity starts at Corporate, ERP syncs need Enterprise, per-user seats get expensive for large approver pools, and the API allows only 3 concurrent requests per developer key per organization (developer.bill.com).
In-product agents are real and shipped: the W-9 Agent (7 November 2025) and the Invoice Coding Agent (29 January 2026), plus AI flags for unusual bill amounts since 10 August 2026; accuracy and time-saved figures are vendor-claimed. The free v3 API covers bills, approvals, vendors, payments, documents and webhooks. The only first-party MCP server, developer.bill.com/mcp, is a documentation server: no data MCP exists, and creating a payment through the API needs an MFA-trusted session.
Live chat runs weekdays 5am to 6pm PT and weekends 6am to 3pm PT, but the contact page says phone support is for select customers after verification (signed-in users can request a callback), and the pricing page lists premium phone support only on Enterprise. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 1.7 of 5 from 1,664 reviews (read 26 September 2026); the score weights recent reviews, while the all-time split is 43 percent five-star and 41 percent one-star. Negative reviews cite account freezes, payment delays and reaching a person, and some reviewers are payees rather than buyers. G2 and Capterra were bot-blocked, so no buyer-side support score was verified.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
What you are really buying is a payment network with AP workflow on top. In fiscal 2026 BILL's AP and AR business earned about $504 million in transaction fees against about $236 million in subscriptions (Audit Friendly sum of the quarterly supplemental tables in the results release of 19 August 2026); most of the rest of BILL's $1.21 billion in transaction fees came from BILL Spend & Expense cards. Part of the AP figure is card interchange paid by suppliers, but payment fees still outweigh seats, so model the per-payment fees, not only the seats. In return you get bill capture, approval routing, a W-9 Agent on every plan, 1099 filing to the IRS and all 50 states, ACH at $0.59 and checks at $1.99, and 9.2 million network members who can pay or be paid without swapping bank details. BILL says 98 of the top 100 US accounting firms partner with it (as of March 2026), which is why so many controllers inherit it.
The catch is the tier wall. Two-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics and Acumatica, PO sync with 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support all sit on the custom-priced Enterprise plan; the posted $49, $65 and $89 per user plans stop at QuickBooks and Xero. List prices also rose from $45, $55 and $79: Corporate by 6 October 2025, when BILL Procurement was added to that plan, and Essentials and Team between 20 December 2025 and 12 January 2026 (Wayback Machine captures of the pricing page). Recent public reviews are weak: Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 1.7 of 5 from 1,664 reviews, and the score weights recent reviews; the all-time split is 43 percent five-star and 41 percent one-star (read 26 September 2026). Phone support is for select customers after verification, though signed-in users can request a callback, and the company is working through activist pressure, reported buyout talks and a May 2026 leadership reshuffle.
Before signing, get in writing: the plan that includes your ERP sync, SSO, multi-entity and 3-way matching (the pricing page contradicts itself on SSO and multi-entity); the approver-only seat price and the Procurement add-on price; the FX margin on international payments; a price lock for the term, since the terms let BILL change fees with notice; and how you export bills, documents and audit history at exit.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Approved bills go out by ACH, mailed check, virtual card, card-funded payment or international wire, up to 2,000 bills at a time. Network vendors get paid without anyone collecting bank details, and checks leave from BILL's clearing account with Positive Pay.
The W-9 Agent emails new vendors, collects W-9s and validates TINs, and since June 2026 auto-approves high-confidence forms. BILL then generates and e-files 1099s with the IRS and all 50 states at $2.99 per form direct (published).
The Invoice Coding Agent, live since 29 January 2026, codes line items from prior coding and allocation patterns. It is included from the $65 Team plan up; Essentials users code by hand.
The Accountant Console costs $49 a month and lets a firm manage client entities, resell subscriptions at wholesale and file 1099s at $1.99 each. Firm pricing is based on client entities and products, not firm staff.
Since 25 June 2026, Multi-Entity accepts bills at one top-level email address and shows them in a central inbox while keeping entity context. The compare table places multi-entity on Corporate and Enterprise.
Since 10 August 2026, BILL's AI flags bills that look unusually high for a vendor's payment history inside the approvals queue, alongside duplicate-bill warnings. Approvers confirm or deny; dual control for sensitive actions needs Enterprise.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Bill entry, approval workflows, W-9 Agent, 6 standard roles, ACH, card and check payments; accounting sync by manual CSV only.
Adds automatic 2-way sync with QuickBooks Online, Pro, Premier and Xero, the Invoice Coding Agent, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting for QBO users.
Adds custom approval policies, approver-only seat discounts and BILL Procurement (requests, POs, tolerance rules, 2-way matching); the compare table also marks SSO and multi-entity here.
Adds 2-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, QuickBooks Enterprise, Acumatica and Rillet, PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support.
For accounting firms: manage many client entities, wholesale client subscription pricing and a 10 to 20 percent client discount by clients onboarded.
Purchase requests, POs, tolerance rules and 2-way matching for Essentials and Team; included on Corporate and Enterprise.
Payer fee per ACH or ePayment from a bank, BILL balance or BILL Cash Account.
BILL prints and mails the check from a clearing account with Positive Pay.
Foreign-currency wire or local transfer is free but an exchange rate applies (margin not published); a USD wire is $19.99.
Same-day or next-day ACH $11.99; instant payment 1 percent ($9.99 min, $100 max); expedited checks $14.99 to $24.99.
Fund any vendor payment with a card; expedited check fees stack on top.
IRS e-file per 1099 ($1.99 via Accountant Console), $1.49 per direct state filing, $1.99 per mailed copy; the tax year 2025 volume rebates on the 1099 page covered only forms filed by 31 January 2026.
The pricing page (checked 26 September 2026) shows 2-way sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, QuickBooks Enterprise, Acumatica and Rillet only on Enterprise, which is custom priced. PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching is also an Enterprise item. A mid-market team on an ERP cannot use the $49 to $89 list prices to budget. Get the Enterprise quote with the sync scope written in.
Wayback Machine captures of BILL's pricing page show Corporate at $79 on 12 August 2025 and $89 by 6 October 2025, when BILL Procurement was added to that plan, and Essentials and Team at $45 and $55 on 20 December 2025 but $49 and $65 by 12 January 2026, with no change to their listed features. The live page on 26 September 2026 still shows $49, $65 and $89, so the rises are roughly 9, 18 and 13 percent (Audit Friendly estimate). Section 10.2 of the terms lets BILL change service fees with advance notice of material increases, and the stated remedy is to stop using the service. Ask for a price lock for the contract term, including payment fees.
The compare table on the pricing page marks single sign-on and multi-entity on Corporate and Enterprise, while the Enterprise plan card lists both as Enterprise additions (checked 26 September 2026). The pricing page also lists Acumatica as an Enterprise 2-way sync, while the integrations FAQ lists Acumatica among file import and export systems. Get the tier for each feature you need confirmed in the order form.
BILL's contact page says phone support is available for select customers after verifying the account, and the pricing page lists premium phone support only on Enterprise, although the same page says live chat and phone support for all plans. Trustpilot showed a TrustScore of 1.7 of 5 from 1,664 reviews on 26 September 2026; the score weights recent reviews, while the all-time split is 43 percent five-star and 41 percent one-star. The one-star reviews center on account freezes, verification and reaching a person, and some reviewers are payees rather than buyers. Name the escalation path in the contract.
BILL's only first-party MCP server, developer.bill.com/mcp, searches API documentation and relays raw HTTP calls to BILL's sandbox API only; it refused production hosts and holds no account connection (tool list and relay tested 26 September 2026). The v3 API is free and broad, but login needs a username, password, organization ID and developer key, and creating a payment requires an MFA-trusted session confirmed by SMS. Community and paid third-party Bill.com MCP servers exist; treat them as unvetted code with payment rights.
Starboard disclosed an 8.5 percent stake in September 2025, Elliott and Barington followed, and Bloomberg reported Hellman & Friedman buyout talks in February 2026 (Payments Dive, 12 February 2026). In May 2026 BILL named a new CTO and Chief Product Officer and said its CTO and Chief Customer Officer would depart. Subscriptions auto-renew each billing cycle with no prorated refunds (terms section 11.2), so ask for change-of-control and price protection terms.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Inside the product, the W-9 Agent (launched 7 November 2025) emails vendors, collects W-9s and validates TINs; since June 2026 it starts automatically for new vendors and auto-approves W-9s it validates with high confidence. BILL says it removes over 80 percent of manual steps (vendor-claimed). The Invoice Coding Agent (29 January 2026) codes multi-line bills from past coding; BILL claims 20 percent less manual time from alpha customers and 99 percent field capture accuracy on the top 20 percent of common bills (vendor-claimed). It is included from the $65 Team plan up, not on Essentials.
BILL AI also flags duplicate and missing bills and, since 10 August 2026, bills whose amount is unusual for that vendor, right in the approvals queue. BILL says its AI has processed more than 1.3 billion documents and stopped 8 million fraud attempts in fiscal 2025 (press release, 28 October 2025). No independent audit of these figures was found.
Exists: BILL publishes an MCP server at developer.bill.com/mcp. On 26 September 2026 its tool list was list-endpoints, get-endpoint, search-endpoints, search, fetch and a generic execute-request. It is a documentation server hosted on the docs portal. Scope: no first-party server reads or writes account data. The execute-request tool relays an HTTP call the agent builds with its own credentials, and in an Audit Friendly test on 26 September 2026 it reached only BILL's sandbox API; production API hosts were refused. The v3 API underneath is broad and free: bills, approve or deny, approval policies, vendors, payments, documents and webhooks, at 20,000 requests an hour per developer key and 3 concurrent requests per developer key per organization.
Turnkey: no, admin-configured at best. An admin generates a developer key, the login needs username, password, organization ID and key, and creating a payment requires an MFA-trusted session confirmed by an SMS code. Community MCP servers for Bill.com exist on GitHub, all with 0 or 1 stars, and Custom Connectors sells a third-party read and write connector; none is first-party. The official MCP registry listed no BILL server on 26 September 2026.
Who wins for whom: Accounting firms and small teams that want the W-9 Agent and 1099 e-filing to the IRS and 50 states: BILL. Owners who want amount-based approvals and Tax1099 sync from the $25 Core plan: Melio. NetSuite or Sage Intacct shops that want an audit log and 3-way match on Plus: Ramp.
Approvals, W-9 Agent, 1099 e-file. Every BILL plan gets approval workflows and the W-9 Agent, the audit trail is time-stamped and cannot be altered, 1099s e-file to the IRS and 50 states, and SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits run annually.
Where it loses: Dual control is Enterprise only, ERP PO sync with 2 and 3-way matching sits on the quote-only Enterprise plan, and none of the pages reviewed mention e-invoicing mandates outside the US.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 80; BILL pricing tiers.
Watch: Accounts Payable and Bill Pay using Bill - Is it better than QBO!? 22:55 · Independent walkthrough · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube
Approval rules and W-9 checks. Melio routes bills through approvals by amount with multiple approvers from the Core plan, collects W-9s with TIN matching, syncs 1099 data to Tax1099, and lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018.
Where it loses: There is no PO matching or documented duplicate-invoice check, no SOC 1 report is listed, and audit trail reports only hold records from November 2025 onward.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 58; Melio watch-outs.
Watch: How to Build Smarter Approval Safeguards in Melio 2:07 · Official demo · Melio Payments on YouTube (official)
Plus adds audit log, 3-way match. Ramp lists SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, PCI DSS and FedRAMP Moderate, puts audit log, payment release approvals and 3-way match on Plus, and files 1099-NEC and MISC at $0.65 per IRS form.
Where it loses: E-invoicing mandates are not described, W-8 handling is listed as an upload without validation, and the platform fee on Plus, where these controls sit, is not published.
Source: AF score rationale: Compliance depth 84; Ramp pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: Approving purchase orders & Matching to bills 4:44 · Official demo · Ramp on YouTube (official)
Who wins for whom: Teams that want a posted fee on each domestic rail and free virtual card payments: BILL. Owners who want to fund bills by card at 2.9 percent while suppliers receive ACH or check: Melio. Teams willing to pay from Ramp Checking to waive fees and send eligible FX payouts in about 30 minutes: Ramp.
Posted per-payment fee table. BILL publishes ACH at $0.59, check at $1.99, free virtual card, card-funded payments at 2.9 percent and instant payments at 1 percent, runs processing in-house with Positive Pay on checks, and pays vendors in 130+ countries.
Where it loses: The FX margin on free local-currency wires is not disclosed, no payer rebate on virtual card payments is published, and API payments need an SMS-verified session.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; BILL watch-outs.
Watch: How to Automate Domestic AP Payments with BILL V3 API 14:24 · Official demo · BILL on YouTube (official)
Many rails, published fee table. Melio pays by ACH ($0.50 after the plan's free quota), same-day ACH, instant transfer, check, wire and virtual card, charges 2.9 percent to fund any bill by card, and reaches 80+ countries.
Where it loses: Melio can hold, decline or limit a payment and decline to explain why, fees can change without notice, and the FX margin on local-currency payments is not published.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; Melio pricing tiers and watch-outs.
Watch: Melio Review: A Better Accounts Payable Alternative to QuickBooks? 18:19 · Review · Financial Tech Lab by Clara CFO Group on YouTube
Bill Pay across ACH, wires, FX. Bill Pay covers standard and same-day ACH, check, domestic and SWIFT wires, local-currency FX payouts and stablecoin payments, and eligible FX payouts funded from Ramp Checking typically land in about 30 minutes.
Where it loses: Since 1 June 2026 standard ACH costs $0.59 and checks $1.99 unless bills are paid from Ramp Checking, and card cashback is set per customer from 0 to 1.5 percent.
Source: AF score rationale: Payments & money movement 88; Ramp watch-outs.
Watch: Ramp Bill Pay Product Overview 3:48 · Official demo · Ramp on YouTube (official)
Bills that look unusually high against a vendor's payment history are now flagged in the approvals queue, where approvers confirm or deny them.
BILL added native 3-way matching and receiving inside BILL Procurement and full 2-way purchase order sync with NetSuite and Acumatica.
BILL promoted Michael Cieri to Chief Product Officer and named founding engineer Eric Chan CTO, and said CTO Ken Moss and Chief Customer Officer Sarah Acton would depart.
The Invoice Coding Agent codes multi-line bills from past coding and allocation patterns. The pricing page includes it from the Team plan up.
BILL released its first AI agent, which emails vendors and validates W-9s. BILL says it removes over 80 percent of manual W-9 steps (vendor-claimed).
Oracle NetSuite and BILL announced that BILL's payment automation and vendor network are embedded in NetSuite Intelligent Payment Automation for US customers.
Seats are published: Essentials $49, Team $65 and Corporate $89 per user a month, with Enterprise quote only (checked 26 September 2026). A 5-user team on Team pays $325 a month in seats. If it sends 200 ACH payments and 50 checks a month, fees add about $217, so roughly $6,500 a year in total (Audit Friendly estimate from published prices).
A 10-user Corporate account is $890 a month before fees, about $10,700 a year. Vendr's public page shows a median contract of $11,769 a year across 51 purchases, from $7,276 to $29,429 (per Vendr, page last updated February 2026). A team that needs NetSuite, Sage Intacct or Dynamics sync is on Enterprise and needs a quote.
The AP and AR terms (effective 10 February 2025) renew a subscription automatically each billing cycle. Cancelation takes effect at the end of the current cycle, with no prorated refund, and waits until pending payments post. BILL may change service fees with advance notice of material increases, and disputes go to individual JAMS arbitration.
The terms make no specific data-export promise: BILL may keep copies of your data after cancelation as law and its privacy notice allow. Export before you leave. Reports export to CSV or Excel (September 2026 update), and the v3 API can list bills, vendors, payments and documents. Ask for a written export and audit-history commitment.
On QuickBooks Online or Xero, most teams self-onboard from a trial and can pay bills within days. BILL says customers with larger deployments or other accounting systems and ERPs meet solution specialists who help configure, test and document the import/export process.
BILL publishes no timeline. A NetSuite partner reports weeks for a basic single-entity setup and 2 to 3 months for complex multi-entity work with historical data (Anchor Group, 3 September 2026). Another consultancy advises booking several sync calls with BILL support early, because their calendars fill quickly.
Only through the API, and not turnkey. BILL's MCP server at developer.bill.com/mcp is a documentation server: it searches endpoints and docs and can relay a raw HTTP request to BILL's sandbox API, but it refused production API hosts when tested and holds no connection to your account (checked 26 September 2026). No first-party data MCP exists in the official registry.
With a developer key, a custom or third-party MCP can list bills, approve or deny them and manage vendors through the free v3 API. Creating a payment needs an MFA-trusted session confirmed by an SMS code, which keeps a person in the loop. Community Bill.com MCP servers on GitHub are unofficial.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.