Chargebee is a subscription and usage billing platform for SaaS and AI companies that connects to 40+ payment gateways, with quoting, collections and revenue recognition sold as separate products alongside the core Billing product.
Independently scored, one dimension at a time. Every dimension is sourced, and we say whether a claim is published, reported, or estimated.
Chargebee's compliance certificates doc lists SOC 1 Type 2, SOC 2 Type 2 (security, availability, confidentiality), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and PCI DSS, and its PCI page states Level 1 Service Provider status under PCI DSS v4.0 (checked 11 October 2026). Sites can be hosted in the US, EU or Australia, and RevRec adds period locks and a contract-to-journal audit trail. Points come off because SOC reports are downloadable only from inside a live site, and SAML, SCIM and approvals on price points are limited to the Enterprise plan, with the access-control bundle listed as a paid add-on.
One vendor covers quoting (CPQ), subscription, usage and hybrid billing, invoicing, payment collection through 40+ gateways or Chargebee Pay, dunning, collections (Receivables) and ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition (RevRec), per the product and pricing pages read on 11 October 2026. E-invoicing is a paid add-on that the docs describe as partner-led, with specialist providers handling each country's format. The public pages list no cash application from bank or lockbox files, credit scoring or trade deductions, and most of the steps beyond billing are separately priced products.
Chargebee documents hosted first-party MCP servers with per-site URLs, API key or OAuth access, a Claude connector and a long list of read tools (docs, checked 11 October 2026). Every MCP entry in the May, June and July 2026 release notes is tagged Beta, including the selected write operations added in June and the per-tool input limits added in July. The published tool reference shows write tools only for test and sandbox sites, the vendor's MCP page still calls write actions upcoming, and Copilot is in public beta.
The pricing page includes 100M usage events a month on Flow and lists up to 500M a month as a paid add-on on Enterprise; the vendor states a peak of 200,000 events per second (vendor figure). Multi-entity supports up to 100 business entities and account hierarchy up to 30 levels, both on Enterprise only. Default API limits are 150, 1,000 and 3,500 calls a minute by plan, with a concurrency cap, per the API docs read on 11 October 2026, and higher limits are another paid add-on.
Chargebee's implementation page gives three to twelve weeks for a typical project and names an in-house team of 100+ (checked 11 October 2026). Every account gets a test site and up to two extra sandboxes, and migration support is listed on both plans. The customer still has to supply a project owner and data engineering time, and CRM and ERP connectors add their own setup.
QuickBooks Online and Xero connectors are included on Flow; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Salesforce, Avalara and warehouse export are paid add-ons on Enterprise (pricing page, 11 October 2026). The docs describe every accounting connector as a one-way sync from Chargebee, running once every 24 hours for NetSuite and Sage Intacct. The gateway list is long at 40+, and the HubSpot and Salesforce integrations do sync both ways.
The pricing page lists 24/7 email and 24/5 chat, phone and call-back for both Flow and Enterprise, and a support article says live chat is for paid plans during business hours (checked 11 October 2026). No response-time targets or uptime commitment are published; the uptime article points to the status page. The only review signal used here is the 4.4 rating the vendor displays on its own site.
Flow rates are on the pricing page, and Chargebee Pay publishes a US fee schedule. Enterprise Billing, CPQ, RevRec and Growth Enterprise are quote only, Receivables has no price on the page, and paid add-ons are marked without amounts. The Flow structure dates from August 2026 (reported by UsagePricing) and the API docs still name the retired Starter and Performance plans (read 11 October 2026), which is a reason to get the rate in writing.
Written by the Audit Friendly research team. No vendor edits, no sponsored placement.
Chargebee Billing is a product catalog, subscription engine and usage rating engine that sits between the CRM, 40+ payment gateways and the general ledger. The Flow plan publishes its price: 0.80 percent of monthly invoicing volume with no platform fee, or 99 dollars a month plus 0.65 percent (checked 11 October 2026). CPQ, Growth, RevRec and Receivables attach to the same customer and invoice record. The vendor says 6,500+ businesses bill on it and reports being named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for Recurring Billing Applications for the third year running.
The fee is a share of what gets invoiced, so it rises every month the company grows. The earlier free allowance on the first 250,000 dollars of billing went away when Flow replaced the Starter and Performance plans in August 2026 (reported by UsagePricing). The controls a larger finance team expects sit on the quote-only Enterprise plan: multi-entity, account hierarchy, SAML and SCIM, approvals on price points, the NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Salesforce connectors and warehouse export. The NetSuite and Sage Intacct syncs run one way, once every 24 hours. Chargebee's public pages list no cash application from bank or lockbox files and no credit applications or credit limits (checked 11 October 2026). Receivables ranks accounts by collection risk, which is a different job from scoring credit before a sale.
Before signing, get the rate card into the order form: the percentage, what counts as invoicing volume (tax, credits, refunds, offline invoices), the usage-event allowance and the renewal rate. Ask which add-ons are priced separately on Enterprise, including e-invoicing, each ERP and CRM connector, enterprise access controls and the larger usage-event tier. Confirm the term and notice period. The terms of service version effective 16 May 2024 set a default 12-month term that renews automatically unless either side gives 90 days written notice, with the then pay-as-you-go Starter plan carved out as month to month. A newer version took effect on 15 February 2026.
Jobs, mapped to how finance teams actually buy.
Usage events arrive through the Usage Events API, Amazon S3, a bulk file or manual entry, and are rated against flat, tiered, volume, stairstep or per-seat prices. Plans can carry included usage, overages, prepaid credits and usage alerts. Each event needs a de-duplication ID, and bulk files are capped at 5 MB.
Chargebee sits on top of Stripe, Adyen, Braintree, GoCardless, Checkout.com and others, so the billing system can change without moving payment tokens. The pricing page lists cards, wallets, ACH, SEPA, BACS and bank transfers on both plans. Gateway fees are billed by the gateway and are separate from Chargebee's percentage.
CPQ Lite creates quotes and immediate amendments from the product catalog. Full CPQ adds multi-product and ramped multi-year quotes, renewals and rule-based approvals, by quote. The embedded CPQ for HubSpot and Salesforce is a paid add-on, and the HubSpot integration needs Sales Hub Professional or higher.
Basic and smart dunning are included on both Billing plans. Chargebee Receivables adds risk-ranked queues, reminder sequences, promise-to-pay tracking and AI-drafted replies that a collector approves. The figure of up to 20 percent is the vendor's own claim, and Receivables has no price on the pricing page.
RevRec Performance handles point-in-time and ratable recognition with journal entry mapping for Chargebee Billing customers. RevRec Enterprise adds SSP allocation, contract modifications, usage-based recognition, multi-entity and direct journal posting to the ledger, and can take data from Stripe, Salesforce and HubSpot. Both are quote only.
Multi-entity gives each entity its own tax registrations, invoice sequences and branding with shared catalog rules. It is available on Enterprise only, where the plan table marks it as paid. It cannot be switched off once enabled, so the docs suggest testing it in a sandbox first. OAuth for MCP is not supported on multi-entity sites.
Forget the 40-row feature grid. Pick a finance workflow and see how this tool and its closest peers actually do it, with our verdict on who wins for whom.
Here's what it really costs: published rates where a vendor lists them, aggregated quote data where they don't, plus a path to your own number.
Price book and invoicing, usage ingestion and billing, usage limits and alerts, analytics, pricing tables and one growth experiment, QuickBooks Online and Xero connectors. Includes 100M usage events a month.
Same Flow features with a lower percentage. Cheaper than pay as you go once monthly invoicing passes $66,000 (Audit Friendly arithmetic from the published rates).
Everything in Flow plus multi-entity, account hierarchy, contract terms and on-demand discounting. Up to 500M usage events a month, enterprise access controls, warehouse export and higher API limits are listed as paid add-ons.
For new customers in a partner accelerator or VC portfolio that have raised less than $5M. Application required.
Quote creation and immediate amendments for existing customers. Available only to Chargebee Billing customers.
Multi-product and multi-year ramped quotes, renewals, quoting controls and rule-based approval workflows. The embedded versions for Salesforce and HubSpot are paid add-ons.
Point-in-time and ratable recognition, multi-currency, GAAP revenue reports and journal entry mapping for up to 5 users. Available only to Chargebee Billing customers.
Adds multi-entity, multiple source systems, usage and contract-based recognition, SSP tools, variable consideration and direct journal posting to the general ledger, for up to 10 users.
Pricing tables, hosted checkout, self-serve portal and no-code cancel pages. Exclusively for Chargebee Billing customers.
Multi-brand growth experiments, AI-powered offer builder, trial conversion and upsell experiments.
E-invoicing, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Salesforce, Avalara, SAML, SCIM and JIT access controls, multi-entity (up to 100 entities), account hierarchy, up to 500M usage events a month and export to S3, GCS or Snowflake carry a paid marker in the plan table. HubSpot and e-invoicing are also paid on Flow.
Optional gateway built on Adyen. ACH is 0.8 percent ($0.50 minimum, $5.00 cap), cross-border cards add 1.50 percent and disputes cost $15 each. The seller pays these fees. Fee schedule valid from 1 June 2024.
UsagePricing recorded on 11 August 2026 that Chargebee retired Starter and Performance for a single Flow plan. Starter had been free for the first 250,000 dollars of cumulative billing and then 0.75 percent. Flow charges 0.80 percent from the first dollar, or 99 dollars a month plus 0.65 percent. At 400,000 dollars of monthly invoicing that is about 2,700 dollars a month on the cheaper option (Audit Friendly estimate from published rates, 11 October 2026). The cost keeps rising as revenue grows unless a cap or a flat Enterprise fee is negotiated.
On 11 October 2026 the pricing page displayed Flow at $0 plus 0.80 percent or $99 a month plus 0.65 percent. UsagePricing dates the switch to 11 August 2026 and says its record rests on its own page captures with no second source. The API docs still key rate limits to the retired Starter and Performance plan names, at 150 and 1,000 calls a minute, so the limit for Flow is not stated. Ask sales to state the applicable plan, rate and API limit in the order form.
Chargebee's docs describe the NetSuite and Sage Intacct connectors as a one-way sync of invoices from Chargebee that runs once every 24 hours, with sales order status flowing back (docs read 11 October 2026). The NetSuite doc adds that offline payments reconciled in NetSuite can be recorded in Chargebee. The QuickBooks Online and Xero connectors are also one way, apart from offline payments reconciled in QuickBooks, and edits made in Xero cause mapping errors. NetSuite and Sage Intacct are paid add-ons on Enterprise only. Month-end close needs to allow for the last day's invoices arriving after cutoff.
The plan table on the pricing page (11 October 2026) marks SAML, SCIM and JIT provisioning, multi-entity, account hierarchy, approvals on price points, contract terms, on-demand discounting, Salesforce, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Avalara and export to S3 or Snowflake as not included on Flow. Most of those carry a paid marker in the Enterprise column as well. E-invoicing and HubSpot are paid on both plans. A buyer comparing the Flow rate with a competitor's quote should price these in.
Chargebee's terms of service version effective 16 May 2024 set a 12-month initial term, unless a pricing agreement or plan says otherwise, that renews for the same period unless either party gives written notice 90 days before expiry. The same version made the then pay-as-you-go Starter plan month to month, and Chargebee's startups page describes pay as you go as carrying no annual commitment (read 11 October 2026). Plans can be upgraded during the term but cannot be downgraded. After termination Chargebee keeps the data for 120 days and may charge a fee for export help. A newer version took effect on 15 February 2026, so confirm these clauses, and the term that applies to Flow, in the current text and the order form.
The June 2026 release notes say MCP servers support selected write operations on customers, subscriptions and invoice payment collection, and tag that entry Beta, as they do every MCP entry from May to July 2026. The published tool list shows write tools only for the Onboarding server, which is limited to test and sandbox sites, and the vendor's MCP page still says write actions are launching shortly (all read 11 October 2026). OAuth is unavailable on multi-entity sites. Copilot is in public beta, and the docs say charges may apply when it becomes generally available.
Scored on what an outside agent can actually reach: the documented API, how it authenticates, and whether the vendor ships an MCP server.
Exists: Chargebee runs hosted MCP servers at a per-site address (your-subdomain.mcp.chargebee.com, with EU and AU variants). They are documented in the product docs. Agents reachable over MCP first appear in the November 2025 release notes, and the MCP servers are introduced by name in the May 2026 notes. Every MCP entry in the May, June and July 2026 release notes carries a Beta tag, and the notes through August 2026 show no general availability entry (checked 11 October 2026). There are three system servers, Knowledge Base, Data Lookup and Onboarding, plus custom servers an admin assembles from the tool catalog. The docs link a Chargebee connector for Claude and regional connectors for ChatGPT. The older open-source @chargebee/mcp package on GitHub searched documentation only and is marked deprecated. The public MCP registry lists community-built Chargebee servers (CodeSpar, Pipeworx, UsefulAPI); those are third-party.
Scope: The Data Lookup server reads live site data: customers, subscriptions, ramps, entitlements, invoices, quotes, credit notes, transactions, payment sources, events, the product catalog and historical MRR. It can also create export jobs. Write access is narrower and is tagged Beta. The June 2026 release notes say MCP servers can manage customers and subscriptions and collect invoice payments, and the July 2026 notes add checkout tools and per-tool input limits; both entries carry a Beta tag. The published tool reference lists write tools only for the Onboarding server, which works on test and sandbox sites, and the vendor's MCP page still describes write actions as launching shortly (checked 11 October 2026). No MCP write tools are documented for credit notes or refunds, and no MCP tools are documented for RevRec or Receivables.
Turnkey: Admin-configured. An admin opens Settings, Configure Chargebee, Agentic AI, MCP Servers, turns on MCP Access for a server, picks toolsets and chooses API key (up to 5 keys per server) or OAuth. OAuth limits each person to that person's Chargebee role. OAuth is not supported on sites with Multi-Business Entity enabled, which must use API keys. Custom servers need the latest product catalog. The Knowledge Base server needs no authentication because it only reads public docs.
In-product AI: Chargebee Copilot answers product questions and looks up site data inside Billing; the docs label it public beta and say charges may apply at general availability (checked 11 October 2026). Receivables drafts collection replies and proposes next actions, in a suggestive mode that waits for a collector or an autonomous mode for chosen segments. The vendor claims up to 20 percent more revenue collected and up to 50 percent better collections efficiency; no independent account confirms those figures.
Chargebee says it was named a Leader for the third consecutive year and placed furthest for Completeness of Vision for the second year in a row.
UsagePricing recorded that Billing moved to a single Flow plan at 0.80 percent pay as you go or $99 a month plus 0.65 percent, ending the free first $250K (reported).
The June 2026 release notes, in entries tagged Beta, say MCP servers can manage customers and subscriptions and collect invoice payments, and that admins can build custom servers. The July notes add per-tool input limits.
The May 2026 release notes introduce Knowledge Base, Onboarding and data access MCP servers for Claude, Cursor and ChatGPT, and the in-app Copilot assistant. Both entries are tagged Beta.
The November 2025 release notes say Chargebee CPQ and CPQ for HubSpot are live inside Billing. A separate entry tagged Beta introduces Knowledge Base, Data Lookup and Onboarding agents reachable through Copilot or MCP.
Chargebee's press page lists a September 2025 release announcing the acquisition of Inai to add AI-driven payments intelligence. Deal terms were not stated on that page.
On the published Flow plan the fee is a share of monthly invoicing volume: 0.80 percent with no platform fee, or 99 dollars a month plus 0.65 percent (chargebee.com/pricing, checked 11 October 2026). The two options cost the same at 66,000 dollars of monthly invoicing; above that the 99 dollar option is cheaper.
A company invoicing about 417,000 dollars a month would pay roughly 2,800 dollars a month on the 99 dollar option, about 33,700 dollars a year, or about 40,000 dollars a year on pay as you go. That is an Audit Friendly estimate from the published rates and it excludes add-ons. The pricing slider stops at 500,000 dollars a month, so expect a sales conversation above that.
Payment processing is separate. The gateway charges its own fees to the seller. Chargebee's own gateway, Chargebee Pay, lists 2.9 percent plus 30 cents per domestic card transaction and 0.8 percent for ACH, capped at 5 dollars, in the US (fee schedule valid from 1 June 2024).
For context, Vendr reports a median Chargebee contract of 57,600 dollars a year across 65 purchases, with a reported low of 8,148 dollars and a high of 178,709 dollars. That page was last updated in February 2026, before the Flow plan.
Flow is sold pay as you go or with a monthly platform fee, and Enterprise is by quote. Chargebee's terms of service version effective 16 May 2024 set a default 12-month term, unless a pricing agreement or plan says otherwise, that renews automatically for the same period unless either party gives written notice 90 days before the term ends. That version made the then pay-as-you-go Starter plan month to month, and Chargebee's startups page describes pay as you go as carrying no annual commitment (read 11 October 2026). Plans can be upgraded during a term but cannot be downgraded. A newer version of the terms took effect on 15 February 2026, so read the current text and the order form for the term that applies to Flow.
After termination, the same terms say Chargebee keeps the account's data for 120 days, the customer is responsible for exporting it before termination, and Chargebee may charge a reasonable fee for export help during that window.
While the account is live, exports are self-serve. The API and the app can export customers, subscriptions, invoices, credit notes, transactions and catalog data, and the pricing page lists billing data portability, including payment methods, on both plans. Scheduled export to Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage or Snowflake is a paid add-on on Enterprise.
Chargebee's implementation page says a typical project takes three to twelve weeks depending on requirements and integrations, and that its framework can move a company off a legacy billing system in just under 30 days (checked 11 October 2026). The work is done by Chargebee's in-house implementation team, which the vendor puts at 100+ people, or by a partner from its directory.
The published phases are requirements gathering, configuration and setup, third-party integrations (CRM, ERP and others), checkout and customer portal integration, data migration and go-live. Chargebee asks the customer to name a project owner and to set aside data engineering time for the migration.
Each account has a test site, and admins can create up to two more sandboxes for one-way settings such as multi-entity. The NetSuite connector can be tested against the test site first. The QuickBooks Online connector does not support a QuickBooks sandbox company.
Partly. Chargebee hosts its own MCP servers and its docs link a Chargebee connector for Claude and regional connectors for ChatGPT (checked 11 October 2026). The release notes tag every MCP entry from May to July 2026 as Beta. An admin turns on MCP Access per server and picks API key or OAuth. Under OAuth the agent sees only what the signed-in person's role allows.
Reading is well covered: customers, subscriptions, invoices, quotes, credit notes, transactions, entitlements, the product catalog and historical MRR, plus export jobs. Writing is narrower. The June 2026 release notes say agents can manage customers and subscriptions and collect invoice payments, while the vendor's MCP page still describes write actions as launching shortly. Test write access on a sandbox before relying on it.
Nothing in the docs lets an agent run revenue recognition, work Receivables cases or issue credit notes and refunds through MCP. Those steps need the app or the REST API.
Answered only from our own published research on this tool, never from general internet noise. If we cannot answer it well, our research agents will dig in and publish a sourced answer.